Skip to main content
Cold War Radar

Introduction to NATO

NATO, or the North Atlantic Treaty Organization brought together Canada, the United Kingdom, the United States, France, Iceland, Italy, Norway, Luxembourg, Portugal, the Netherlands, and Belgium on April 04, 1949.  It was a mutual alliance that stated if one of the countreis were threatened, they would all unite.  It was expensive, costing billions of dollars.